Senior Awards Program Recognizes Scholarship

Class of 2018 Earns Accolades


Photo Courtesy Mr. Bishop

On May 8th the West Geauga Senior Awards Program was presented at Mayfield Methodist Church in Chesterland. Over the course of the evening, awards and scholarship recognitions were presented to 127 members of the Class of 2018.

When it was all said and done, approximately 25 presenters from the school district, the local community, the United States military, the school board and various community organizations gave students recognition for academic achievements, college scholarship monetary awards, service (both school and community) and athletics.

Many members of the Class of 2018 were recognized for GPA achievements. The following is a list of some of the other awards that were presented by various groups:

Ms. Wolverine – Samantha Ange

Mr. Wolverine – Jax Schenkel

Create Your Own Path Scholarship – Megan Zanella

Walter E Moll Award – Xavier Zup

Chagrin Valley Women’s Club Scholarship – Caitlin Speyer

Daughters of the American Revolution Scholarship and

Paul DeRamo Memorial Scholarsip – Angela Volsencek

Journalism Award and

West G Class of 1977 Alumni Scholarship – Elizabeth Marino

James Bohinc Scholarship – Sydney Velotta

James Kisicki Memorial Scholarship – Rebecca Saggio

West G Education Association Scholarship – Sydney Gembka

Steingass Physics Scholarship – Eva Mulloy

James Kisicki Memorial Scholarship – Mark Kiec

Dr. Steven Winkler Memorial Scholarship – Samantha Heim

McCullough / Podojil Book Award – Christina Becker

O.A.P.S.E. Scholarship – Emily Arcuri

O.H.S.A.A. Scholar Athlete Award – Morgan Brown

McDonald’s Leadership Scholarship and

Robert Wilcox Memorial Scholarship – Grace Carter

DeJohn Scholarship – Veronica King

Chelsea Talty Scholarship – Sydney Velotta and Grace Carter

Wenger Orthodontics Scholarship – Veronica King

Music Excellence Award – Justin Wesen

U.S. Marine Distinguished Athlete – Emma Roth and Mike Concilla

Athletic Boosters Scholarship – Angelina Fornaro

Foreign Language Excellence Award and Semper Fidelis Music Award and

Phi Beta Kappa Award – John Wenger

Music Excellence Award – Justin Wesen

James Bohinc Scholarship and Student Council Scholarship and

McDonald’s Scholarship – Ayah Ighneim

Eagle Scout Award – Ben Kovacic and Xavier Zup

Congratulations to all our award recipients !!